Spiritual Obsessions and the Art of Broken Glasses

"The Ghost and My Obsession" by Michele Bledsoe

“The Ghost and My Obsession”  Michele Bledsoe

While painting the other day
A lens popped out of my reading / painting glasses
And landed on my palette.
In other words
I painted so hard, my glasses broke.

As it is now
I have to TEAR myself away from my easel
to perform the simplest tasks –
eating
showering
refilling my empty coffee cup..
but now I had to leave the house
and get new glasses.

As I drove around
I noticed
the further away I was from my painting
the more anxious I became.
I was longing to go back to it..
Back to my studio
Back to my painting
Back at my easel
where I feel closest to God.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

