Leaves, Ribbons and the Art of Repeating Myself

DSCF9929

Occasionally, my sisters tease me about my paintings.

“Another leaf, Michele?”

“Ribbons… again?”

Yes.

Often my paintings

take me back

over and over again

to leaves and branches..

to seed pods and swirling ribbons.

Another blackberry.

Another mask.

Maybe to the casual observer

I am repeating myself.

But as I caress these beloved objects

that appear beneath my paintbrush,

they form a mysterious language of symbols..

An intimate, spiritual conversation

that only the heart understands.

4 comments

  1. Stopping by to thank you for your recent like on Shift Key. Michele, this writing is so touching. You painted a lovely place for me even though I’m color blind. You paint equally well with either – pen or brush. I have to stick with the pen. As an abused child I relied on fantasy – we all have times when we need somewhere to go. For me it was reading and writing. I went with you on this one. Well done.

    Like

    1. Thank you for sharing your story, Alslaff. Art has gotten me through some of the most difficult parts of my life. Yes, we all need somewhere to go.. and being able to express ourselves creatively allows us to go deep into those hard places and find peace.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

