Classical Guitar and the Art of Impossible Pursuits

metamorphosis

“Metamorphosis” by Michele Bledsoe

I am a self-taught artist.

I am also a self-taught, occasional guitarist.

I like to pick out difficult pieces of music and teach myself to play them on the guitar.

Maybe that’s a strange hobby for someone who can’t read music and never had a lesson..

but I believe that determination and dedication can overcome any obstacle.

When I first attempted to learn “Classical Gas”

it seemed utterly impossible.

I could barely get my fingers to reach where they needed to go.

Slowly and clumsily

I fought through my frustration

one agonizing note at a time.

It was very difficult

and it sounded awful

but, I refused to give up.

It took me four years to learn “Classical Gas”

and every time I play that beautiful, complicated piece of music on my guitar

I am reminded that you can accomplish anything..

if you are willing to do what it takes to get there.

Sometimes it takes years.

Sometimes it takes a lifetime.

It’s worth it.

Life is a marathon, not a sprint.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

