Catfish Kittens, Snakes and Exploding Hearts

snake

Last week at our art class there was a quiet little boy sitting by himself at a table.

He looked hurt somehow.. there was such a sad look on his face.

When it was getting close to the end, I coaxed him over and asked him to show me what he was drawing. Wow, what a talented artist he is! He made a beautiful picture of an octopus, a flower and a golden pyramid.

I showed him my drawing of a weird fish wearing a crown swimming next to a “catfish”… with the head and paws of a cat and the tail of a fish.

The little boy’s eyes got big.. his mouth twitched a little – but he didn’t say a word.

So, I asked him “Do you think catfish have kittens?”.. and the biggest smile on earth practically split his face in two. It lit up the room like the sun.

I gave that drawing to him.

When class was over, he stayed late to help us put away all the pencils and paper. I thanked him for helping us clean up.

Yesterday, the boy returned to draw with us again. When class was over, he handed me his drawing of a beautiful, polka-dotted snake and whispered, “This is for you.”

Sometimes I think my heart is going to explode.

17 comments

  1. Creativity is so important and it’s not encouraged enough in education nowadays. Everything is so over-structured and hurried children don’t have the space to explore. Art is important to children so congratulations on the classes.

    Like

  2. What a wonderful thing to do, and sounds like you are great people to open the world of imagination and images for children. I know what you mean about a heart nearly exploding. You might enjoy a similar moment I had when I was back in Pittsburgh 2 years ago working with children from a poor neighborhood there, which is being renewed by some wonderful people and a lot of art and gardening!
    https://artcalling.wordpress.com/2013/06/02/braddock-2-quiet-waters-run-deep/

    Like

    1. Thank you for sharing that post with me! What a beautiful story.. I am sure “D” will never forget the time you spent with her creating art. Yes, quiet waters run very deep and a single moment of kindness can literally change the course of a child’s life.

      Like

      1. You’re most welcome, it is nice to find others who know how amazing it is to watch children’s creativity bloom.
        One of my heroines is Lily Yeh, she started working with people in inner city Philadelphia, doing mosaics with them. She now goes all over the world to the most troubled communities and brings healing through art. She has discovered through her work that enabling people to create beauty gives them a sense of dignity and accomplishment. From these grow increased confidence and self empowerment.
        So anyone working to help people be more creative is doing vital healing work.
        Good luck with all your initiatives.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s a beautiful story! Wow! You inspired that little one so much. If I were his Mama I’d feel very privileged to have you guiding his art class. I know you’d capture my 9 year old daughter’s imagination.

    Like

    1. Thank you for the kind words! I have been enjoying your blog.. Love your thoughts on breast-feeding. My sister has four kids.. and is currently nursing 2 of my nieces simultaneously! It is the most natural thing in the world 🙂 Best wishes to you and your beautiful children!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you! That’s wonderful to hear! I’m really pleased you like it and have such a positive view on breastfeeding :-). Your sister sounds like an amazing woman! This is my first time breastfeeding and I’m finding it hard enough with just one mouth to feed lol. I love the way you see potential in every child and selflessly put your students first. You have such a creative spirit. Your work is simply beautiful. Best wishes to you and your lovely family.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

