When You Can’t Make Up Your Mind… Paint With Your Heart

dear franklin

“Dear Franklin…” by Michele Bledsoe

When I was invited to participate in the upcoming exhibit, BOOKED: Contemporary Literary Art, I got a really late start on my painting. The exhibit is a group show which embraces the art of the story teller, and pays tribute to beloved authors whose works have moved us, inspired us, and enriched our lives.

The problem was – I couldn’t make up my mind.

I love to read, and have so many favorite books. The deadline was approaching, but I just couldn’t decide which one to choose.

It occurred to me that I was thinking too much.

So I stopped using my head and painted with my heart.

“We Need to Talk About Kevin” by Lionel Shriver is a brutal book. Horrific, yet beautifully written. It took me by surprise.. and left me wandering around stunned for days after I finished it.

This is where my art wanted to take me..

and when I let go

it stopped being the painting I thought I should do

and became the painting I was meant to do.

Big difference.

9 comments

  1. Thanks for leaving a Like at artcalling.Nice to discover your blog,I recognise so much the process you described in this post. Yes, doing the drawing that needed to be done, getting out of the way so it could come through. So much of my art process teaches me about letting go.

    Like

Leave a Reply

