The Art of the Extended Family

michele1

My husband and I are returning to Copper Trails School to take part in their gifted arts night. I am looking forward to spending the evening drawing pictures with these talented young artists.

Having no children of my own, I must admit I was a little anxious the first time I found myself in a room surrounded by kids.

But the moment we sat down to draw together, all of that disappeared.

A wondrous thing happens when people create art together..

We discover that we are all family.

10 comments

  1. Sorry but I had a small chuckle when you said you were anxious when finding yourself in a room surrounded by kids, but I think I get it… their energy is so honest and perhaps a little confronting to begin with, an absolute blessing really 🙂

    Like

    1. That’s okay – I laugh about it now, too. When I was asked to volunteer my time to teach art to inner city kids, I was terrified. That’s exactly why I knew I had to do it. Because it’s not about me, it’s about them. So, I put aside my fears and jumped right in. These kids need all the love they can get.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

