Dead Baby Birds and Weird Portraits

Lullaby 2014

There are certain objects that repeat themselves in my paintings.

Leaves, ribbons, crumbling stone, bits of string.. and the occasional dead baby bird.

I call this painting, “Lullaby”.. because that’s what it is.

Many years ago, I painted a portrait of my sister for a Christmas present. She was thrilled, but demanded that I leave off her glasses – and warned me not to do anything “weird” to her.

Suffice it to say, I did what I wanted.. and did not let her look at it until it was done.

sherry1

When she saw the painting, she looked at me and shouted: “A DEAD BABY CHICKEN! WHY??”

She didn’t even notice the mouse.

I am happy to say that after the initial shock, she has come to really love her portrait..

but I still wish she had let me paint her with glasses.

3 comments

  1. I see a family resemblance!

    Back in the early 80s I did a composition using chicken bones. I didn’t think that death was connoted, but one viewer told me she couldn’t bear the sight of all those bones.

    More “Weird Portraits,” please! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

