If I Can Do it – So Can You

rose and sam

I remember making a book when I was little. I vaguely recall the story had something to do with a family of animals living near a beach. I made drawings of weird dog-like creatures on pieces of paper that I folded to look like pages. My grandfather liked it, and that was good enough for me.

It never occurred to me that I could make a real book. Even as I got older – such a thing seemed so far removed from the realm of possibility. Books were made by famous authors and illustrators.. not regular people like me.

That was what I thought… until I met Tad Smith.

I met Tad at an art gallery where I was one of the exhibiting artists in a group show. Since Tad and I were both artists, conversation came easily. I couldn’t help but smile when he told me that my paintings would be perfect for a children’s book. That had always been a dream of mine, I explained. So when Tad told me about his book: Tales of a Tombstone, AZ Tortoise – it blew my mind.

Suddenly, I realized that books CAN be made by regular people like me.

If Tad could do it – so could I..

And if I can do it – so can you.

Leave a Reply

