Yes, That’s a Dead Bird.

 

bird

Yes, I put a painting of a dead bird inside a children’s book.

Why is that so strange?

I like to paint animals.

Sometimes they are alive

and sometimes they aren’t.

The Secret Kingdom is self-published. Chances are, if I had gone through a traditional publisher, this book would never exist. At the very least, I would have had to compromise my vision, and sugar-coat my art to be safer and more palatable for the general public.

But then it wouldn’t be The Secret Kingdom.

It wouldn’t be the book I was meant to make.

The Secret Kingdom exists because I was driven by a passion to share my imagination..

and hopefully inspire others to do the same.

It is a true reflection of my creative work.

 

2 comments

  1. I know exactly what you mean. This looks like excellent work from both of you, it looks magical, universal in appeal, truthful and sublimely crafted. Congratulations on publishing a beautiful work, and taking no nonsense in choosing the right form for your admirably singular book. All the best for your future creations too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

