THE GREAT FEAR OF FALLING

thegreatfearoffalling

In my own country I am in a far-off land
I am strong but have no force or power
I win all yet remain a loser
At break of day I say goodnight
When I lie down I have a great fear
Of falling.
François Villon

 

I call this painting, “The Great Fear of Falling”.
The title comes from the poem you see listed above.
The pomegranate comes from the story of Persephone.

 

Seems there are people out there who find this image a little dark to be in a children’s book… along with many of the other illustrations found in The Secret Kingdom.
What’s wrong with a little darkness?
We should not be afraid to go into those dark places within ourselves.
After all, without darkness
we’d never see the stars.
Leave a Reply

