Small Things with Great Love..

small things

“Do small things with great love.”

Mother Theresa

I have made some large paintings in my time, but mostly I prefer to work small.

I like to scoot up real close to my canvas and work lovingly with my tiny brushes for hours on end.. applying layer after layer of color. It is an intensely intimate experience that I enjoy very much.

Throughout my years of exhibiting work in galleries, I have had many people tell me that I should paint larger. Explaining to me that larger work would have more of a presence… would get more attention somehow.  In group shows, my little paintings may be overlooked… hiding away in corners.. lost in the shadow of larger pieces.

Sure, I imagine there are many people who go through life and only notice the big things.

Big buildings. Monster trucks. Giant paintings. Huge sculptures.

But there are also people out there who will notice a tiny flower reaching out through a crack in the pavement of a crowded parking lot.

I guess I am one of those people.

Little moments of beauty are everywhere.. but they are only visible to those who will take the time to look closer.

So, I will continue make my small paintings.. with great love.

Leave a Reply

